top of page

Dr. Abhishek Dewanji studied B.Sc. Chemistry (Hons.) at the Dinabandhu Andrews College of University of Calcutta after which he pursued M.Sc. at IIT Kharagpur. He then moved to Germany for PhD under the supervision of Prof. Armido Studer at the University of Münster, followed by two postdocotoral research stays in the group of Prof. Magnus Rueping at RWTH Aachen University and with Prof. David Procter at The University of Manchester, respectively. Dr. Dewanji's doctoral and postdoctoral research experiences include some of the frontline topics of organic synthesis and catalysis, such as radical chain reactions, visible light-catalysis, triplet state chemistry, earth-abundant metal-catalysis, electron donor-acceptor complexes and late-stage arene C-H functionalization reactions.

Dr. Abhishek Dewanji


  • Assistant Professor (2023-present)                                    Indian Institute of Technology Mandi

                                                                                                    School of Chemical Sciences

  • Senior Research Investigator (2022-2023)                        Syngene International Ltd.

                                                                                                    Integrated Drug Discovery

  • Postdoctoral Research Associate (2020-2022)                  The University of Manchester, UK       

                                                                                                    with Prof. David Procter

  • Postdoctoral Researcher (2017-2020)                               RWTH Aachen University, Germany

                                                                                                    with Prof. Magnus Rueping


  • Doctor of Philosophy (2012-2016)                                    University of Münster, Germany

                                                                                                   with Prof. Armido Studer

  • Master of Science (2010-2012)                                         Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur

  • Bachelor of Science (2007-2010)                                      University of Calcutta


Awards & fellowships

  • EPSRC Postdoctoral Fellowship by The University of Manchester.

  • Doctoral Fellowship by NRW Graduate School of Chemistry, University of Münster.

  • CSIR Junior Research Fellowship (not opted).


  • CY501- Organic Reactions and Mechanism

  • CY504- Heterocyclic Chemistry


bottom of page